Whut de fark?!

The Tall-Skinny:
Lifestyles of the Broke and Notorious is a blog about the Second Life activities and related matters that Terry Toland runs into (and occasionally drags her friends through) that warrant writing about. These are commonly – but not limited to – fashion, roleplaying, and socializing.

The Double-Grande with Whip:
I’ve wanted to start a blog for a while. Well, one that I actually post my username to. I do have another blog out there that I set up to be more anonymous, and I will probably adjust it so it fits more along the lines of ‘private emo diary that no one should take seriously’, while this one becomes potentially productive and possibly entertaining to someone other than myself and my partner.

For better or worse, I have been encouraged by at least one other blogger to pursue writing my thoughts on SL. So, with finals over and winter break setting in, I hope to jot down tidbits (or essays) about fashion, roleplaying, and socializing in SL. (And if you’re wondering what all this ‘ess-ell’ stuff is, go here.) In doing so, I claim not actual expertise in what the heck I write and fully admit to being an amateur at this “business”. Personally, SecondLife is a form of entertainment for me, not a job- I pay it, and it has not paid me back. I do feel I have a certain degree of aesthetic sense and storytelling ability, and I’ve crammed more sociological and psychological information into my cranium than perhaps any gamer should.

Ultimately, don’t bitch at me that I don’t “know anything”. Because I already know that.

However, if something severely bothers you (i.e., your body physically responds with nausea, trembling, increased heart-rate, or a sense of fight-or-flight), please do contact me. Actually, if you have a less serious reaction but still feel uncomfortable or that you want to clear something up, you can contact me, too. While I want to speak my mind and I can be pretty stubborn, I really enjoy learning and prefer being positive. I might not agree with you, but I still find it beneficial to hear the other side. I am opening to changing things, if necessary. I’m human, and I make mistakes.

This is, of course, provided that you’re not an ass. The moment things include insults is the moment the interaction stops for me. I find the saying, “You catch more flies with sugar than vinegar” very appropriate when conversing with others, and frankly, I don’t handle conflict well in real life. As SL is my entertainment, I wont’t let someone else make it a drag. I’m sure you feel the same way.

~ by Terry Toland on December 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
