Life out on the Street: Apology to the Public

I am socially awkward.

As this is an apology and not an excuse, I will not go into detail about why I am. We’ll blame it on childhood and move on. The bottom line is that I often naturally struggle with proper etiquette and interaction. I have improved, but still make major blunders. This can be painfully clear when I try to be funny: somedays I am witty like my father, other times I have really bad execution like my mother.

If I have offended you or someone you know in the past because I did or said something inappropriate, I am honestly sorry. From the years that I have been the butt of primary school jokes in real life, I know it is far from a pleasant experience, and it is never my intent to make someone feel that way. Truth be told, I attempt to be humorous or more socially bold around people I trust and think highly of. I know this does not take away from my mistake, but perhaps it provides more light as to why I may be completely quiet in one situation and be a ham somewhere else.

I see myself as approachable, so I hope that if someone has a problem that they will contact me. Linden Labs does require members on the main grid to be 18 or over, and I try to bear in mind that I am, ultimately, a mature adult responsible for my actions. In matters such as these, I welcome online-IMs, offline IMs, notecards and even e-mails- whatever works to resolve the matter.

Bearing this in mind, I move on. I’ve come to the point in my life where worrying drains too much energy out of me than I care to expend. Yes, there are certain things that deserve careful attention and warrant tension; however, I advocate people to evaluate what those really are and let go of those that are not worth their time. I work to not hold hard feelings and just do what I need to do to get on with my life. I hope others do, as well.

So, for my past, current, and future misdemeanors, I apologize.

Sincerley,
~ Terry Toland

Post Script
I thought this would be the best way to convey my feelings, as this happens more often than I’d like it to. Yes, I guess it can be perceived as passive (that’s my nature), but I also wanted my message to be clear and available. This is not a product of sarcasm, and it is not my intent to create waves or anything like that. Again, just the way I thought would be best.

~ by Terry Toland on January 28, 2009.

4 Responses to “Life out on the Street: Apology to the Public”

  1. […] LotBaN – Life out on the Street: Apology to the Public Originally posted on Lifestyles of the Broke and Notorious. […]

  2. I think you speak for many of us. At times we all feel socially awkward, we stumble about — while trying to dance — only to end up stepping on toes or at worse sprawling out on the dance floor.

    I think you are wise to not let it worry you. Apologize, remember we all do it, then get up, dust yourself off, and dance on. If you need it, don’t be afraid to ask for a hand up, most of us have had someone help us up and are more than willing to return the favor.

    Our best recourse is to remember we are all clumsy at times; it’s best to forgive and smile when our own toes are trampled, and to happily help others up when they fall.

    The dance must go on!

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Gando. It incorporates a very appropriate metaphor and perspective on the situation. ❤

  3. […] something. Personally, I value humor very highly and it has to be used appropriately (as I’ve posted in the past, I’ve made my own blunders and work to take responsibility for them), and the norms […]

Leave a Reply

 
