Look of the Purple Day

+DV8+ Purple Day - I Miss You

It’s so hard without you here… I’ve tried changing everything about me- my looks, my friends, my attitude- and still, I can’t get over loosing you…

Why did you have to go? Why couldn’t the doctors save you? Why did you get cancer…?

…I miss you, and I don’t know what to do…

I’ve lost two to cancer in my family. Some might say they were “old”, and it was “their time”. That doesn’t take away how much I still miss them and wonder what my life would be like if they were still here. One might not have had cancer if she hadn’t smoked; one might have been saved if the medical process worked more efficiently. I could rant and wail about it, but it wouldn’t change the fact of the matter. Nor do I think they would want me to do so. That’s why I originally wasn’t going to do anything publicly for Paint SL Purple Day today.

However, something about +DV8+’s promotion flicked a switch inside me. The brightly-colored, eccentric styles of the cyber-fashion house conjured an image of a young adult desperately trying to find a way to overcome the pain of loosing a loved one through changing identity. Now, not everyone that has an alternative appearance or lifestyle is working to overcome grief- this is just one method. That being said, people can seek respite from sorrow through distraction or disassociation by change. As adolescence is already a dynamic growth period involving identity formation, the death of someone close can be very traumatic and lead down this path. Some kids really are not being rebellious or different just because it’s “that time of their life”- they just don’t know how to express themselves or handle the situation.

Outfit: Collision – Violaceous Stripe set from +DV8+
Footwear: Rivet Kitteh Boots – Violaceous/Black from +DV8+ [L$1 pre-release]
Back: Elektra Cybertail – Ultraviolet from +DV8+
Hair: Juju – Purple Passion – TWISTED HUNT EXCLUSIVE!! from +DV8+
Skin: Galaxies Nebula skin from [42]
Pose: Unko_Sit from ++DESIRE++
Location: Snatch City sim

~ by Terry Toland on June 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “Look of the Purple Day”

  1. […] Lifestyles of the Broke and Notorious […]

  2. As always, a thoughtful, beautiful post.

  3. Thank you, Ashia. I appreciate that. :3

Leave a Reply

 
