Read it in the Magazine: Two UAC Marines

Whatever you do, you need courage. Whatever course you decide upon, there is always someone to tell you that you are wrong. There are always difficulties arising that tempt you to believe your critics are right.To map out a course of action and follow it to an end requires some of the same courage that a soldier needs. Peace has its victories, but it takes brave men and women to win them.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

I never thought I would ever dare dabble in the workings of the modern militia. There are probably people out there that did not think I would be able to pull off another large, style-focused installment. And there are likely a scattering of naysayers who believe I can’t roleplay beyond an inpatient or fictional being.

I’ve got news for ya’- I am UAC, and this is my behemoth.

UAC Legion - On Duty

Saying life is hard in Midian City is a gross understatement- and I mean both extreme and disgusting. For a soldier, the daily grind of duty is coupled with the dingy details of a rabid city. Our uniforms and gear are a reminder of who and what we are, for ourselves as much as the spectators: the base fatigues of monotone camouflage go beyond simply obscuring us in the shadows. The dark pattern speaks of how we are surrounded in a festering urban jungle and the only people we can give any sort of real trust to are those that share the same spots. Our kits, with their dull buckles and straps, clink and clatter together to give our march a distinctive, ominous score. And when it comes to firepower, we pack a punch like no other.

UAC Legion - Off Duty

One time, a reporter approached me and my fellow marine; he wanted to know about the UAC beyond the armor and order. D grumbled and held his silence while I giggled and swayed- what a fool! How you are perceived is as much defense as the kevlar vests we wear, and on or off duty, we don’t let down our guard. The scum of the city doesn’t care if we’re clocked in or not; they’ll take any opportunity to hunt us down, so we always keep our image and some equipment on hand.

Of course, one doesn’t have to be a rocket scientist to gain an idea about our non-working selves. I often go out in my mechanic’s getup, and I’m sometimes treated to some pleasurable company down at the pier. Our clothes are fairly casual, with my date peeling off much of his gear while I girl it up with high-heeled boots and flower accessories. Sure, they’re old and stained with motor-oil, but they’re what we have. When you’re trying to make it to the next sunup alive, you learn quick to value these small treasures.

UAC Legion - Really Off Duty II

Then there was the time some ‘shrink’ approached us on-duty and started asking about our sex life. Well… it wasn’t so much asking as vulgarly directing us to bump uglies. D was so damn lucky he had a mask on; I just about died and had to bite my tongue hard. This chick was so sure that there was some sort of passionate tension between us. To be blunt, the only tension ever felt between us in that regard are our undone pants. Clearly, though, our appearance did its job- we looked disconnected from the norm. I couldn’t wait to get underneath all those layers that night.

Am I positive the UAC is going to keep me alive? Hell no. Clearly, I was sent here to this dump because someone doesn’t want the light of day to ever shine on my face again. I’m certainly no genius that can fix this urban mess. I am sure, though, that I will continue to stand alongside the Legion as long as I can.

*Note* This outfit break-down is incomplete due to nagging being ineffective with the male model. 😛

On-Duty Ensemble
Female Outfit: 2.0 – BDU Black Shirt & Pants – Midian City Legion [RP faction provided]
Top: Kevlar Vest (Black SWAT) from TonkTastic
Footwear: Long Combat Boots from TonkTastic
Waist: S.I.C_5_Jacket_Choice! version_Belt from S.I.C.49
Hands: TSL Black Gloves from ::: Bare@Rose ::: [free]
Legs: Upper leg panels BLACK – (left  + –  & right + -) from >>MTG<<
Hair: Railway twilight from Exile
Eyes: Eyes – Mirror Green from *Celestial Studios*
Skin: Faith_Porcelain – Smudge Pale from [ATOMIC]
Weapon: MP7 from *BREACH*

Male Outfit: 2.0 – BDU Black Shirt & Pants – Midian City Legion [RP faction provided]
Top: Kevlar Vest (Black SWAT) from TonkTastic
+++ Collar (w. flashlight)(spine)(kevlar vest comp.) from TonkTastic
Footwear: Long Combat Boots from TonkTastic
Head: M.I.C.H TC-2000 Tactical Helmet BLACK from >>D1 & MTG<<
+++ Balaclava III mask from [4mc]
Eyes: Fragmentation Goggles from TonkTastic
Mouth: The Respirator (without Snorkel) from TonkTastic
Waist: Tactical Ballistic Belt BLACK from >>MTG<<
Hands: Black Fingerless Gloves from SOCOM
Arms: Urban Arm Belts – Upper Arms and forearms (L&R) from TonkTastic
Legs: Upper leg panels BLACK medium (left  + mag pouches  & right + grenades) from >>MTG<<
Weapon: *MM*M249 SAW – v6

Location: Leviathan

Off-Duty Ensemble
Female Outfit: Jumpsuit- BLACK BOX from Worldwide Industries
Top: S.I.C_5_Jacket_Choice! version_Body from S.I.C.49
Footwear: Empress Boots Black from [Dark Eden]
Head: Skull hair flower *colour change* from /artilleri/
Waist: :A13:Belt from S.I.C.49
+++ S.I.C_5_Jacket_Choice! version_Belt from S.I.C.49
Wrists: Empress Armlets Black from [Dark Eden]
Hands: TSL Black Gloves from ::: Bare@Rose ::: [free]
Legs: SE Army Garter Socks from Worldwide Industries
Hair: Jennifer – Black from >TRUTH<
Eyes: Eyes – Mirror Green from *Celestial Studios*
Skin: Faith_Porcelain – Smudge Pale from [ATOMIC]

Male Outfit
Top:
Bottom:
Footwear: a from TonkTastic
Head: Fragmentation Goggles from TonkTastic
Mouth:
Neck:
Waist:
Wrists:
Hands:
Arms: Urban Arm Belts – Upper Arms and forearms (L&R) from TonkTastic
Legs:
Hair:
Eyes: Brown Eyes from ::: Bare@Rose :::
Skin: Skin Milos [The Worker] B3 from CYBERNETIC
Weapon: 92F with Shoulder Holsters from *BREACH*

Pose: Pulling Couples Pose from [ImpEle]
Location: Midian City

Really Off-Duty Ensemble
Female Outfit
Top: Short Vest Lady – Black from ::: Bare@Rose :::
Head: Skull hair flower *colour change* from /artilleri/
Hair: Jennifer – Black from >TRUTH<
Eyes: Eyes – Mirror Green from *Celestial Studios*
Skin: Faith_Porcelain – Smudge Pale from [ATOMIC]

Male Outfit
Head:
Ear:
Neck:
Wrists:
Hands:
Arms:
Hair:
Eyes: Brown Eyes from ::: Bare@Rose :::
Skin: Skin Milos [The Worker] B3 from CYBERNETIC
Tattoo:

Pose: Closer from CnS eMotion
Location: Apocalypse

Disclaimer: I do not speak for the UAC/Legion faction in the Midian City roleplay, In Character or Out of Character. This post also took some time to write, and current events have prevented me from actively roleplaying anywhere.

~ by Terry Toland on October 6, 2009.

One Response to “Read it in the Magazine: Two UAC Marines”

  1. […] Lifestyles of the Broke and Notorious […]

Leave a Reply

 
