BBB Challenge 2010 – Day 4

Black Betty I

Day Four’s topic has rolled around, and with it brings concepts I haven’t seriously thought about before and yet get bombarded with all the time: age.

Black Betty II

SL Bloggers – Is your avatar more or less your current biological age? Do you portray a younger avatar, or older? Why is this?

Well… I don’t tend to think of my avatar in terms of biology. She just is. I think she might be dated as older than I am in RL, but when she goes from a gothic roller-girl to a medi-fantasy satyr to a male enigma, age is not really the first thing I consider when conceptualizing her. If anything, she’s got a mature edge in her cheek bones, but her cute nose and lips keep her on the young side. And the only way she looks like this is it looks attractive to me.

Black Betty III

RL Bloggers – Do you lie about your age? Do you think you act your age? Are you where you thought you’d be at your current age?

No, though I did when I was young so I didn’t have to get parental permissions to browse forums and what not. It’s been years since then. Now it’s more an issue of people in RL thinking I’m younger or older than I actually am. I’ve had multiple instances where people have thought I was a highschooler and multiple instances where people have thought my mother and I are sisters. ‘Acting’ my age is more difficult, as there are times when I show my lack of life experience, and there are other times when I’m wiser than people 10 years older than me. It’s all contextual.

Black Betty IV

Related and yet not related, I recently went to a roller derby a few weekends ago and found it absolutely fantastic. The skaters had names like “Astro Glide”, “Anya Heels” and “ReAnimateHer” with appropriately matching numbers (I forget who, but one was “Can’t drive 55”), as well as really put effort into it despite being volunteers. Most impressive was a lot of these women were in their 30s or 40s- slamming another person into a wall isn’t normally what you think of gals that age doing!

I wanna’ be a roller girl when I grow up. 😛

Black Betty A

Outfit: +DV8+ CyberJammer – Black/White
Top: +DV8+ Doublecross #21 – Mesh Bodice Top
Footwear: +DV8+ CyberJammer Skates – Black/White
Mouth: +DV8+ Belly Piercing – Cyber Skel
Neck: +DV8+ Deathrock Candy Bracelet [modified]
Wrists: +DV8+ Deathrock Candy Bracelets
Hands: +DV8+ CyberJammer Gloves – Black
Legs: +DV8+ Demonette Boot – Black/White – Tops
Hair: +DV8+ Terpsichore 2.0 (Blacks) – Raven
Eyes: 30-diseased eyes-deep purple
Skin: Nomine Sylvan China White – mourna black (sans)
Prop: Reek – 80’s Roller Rink (Dollarbie!)
Poses: Long Awkward Pose

~ by Terry Toland on June 16, 2010.

One Response to “BBB Challenge 2010 – Day 4”

  1. […] Lifestyles of the Broke and Notorious […]

Leave a Reply

 
